Thursday, November 20, 2008

Slavery vs. Extinciton

When we were in class last week we learned about Native Americans. We learned about how Native Americans got killed for no reason. We also learned about how Native Americans had to stay in one area, and by the governments force were not allowed to leave. So here is the question, who had it worse African Americans or the Native Americans?

The reason why people might think Native Americans had it worse was because for one thing Native Americans are pretty much extincted. They are extincted because the white settlers killed Native Americans for no reason. The white settlers would kill the buffalo, which means the Native Americans had no food to eat. Another thing was the government made some groups of Native Americans stay in their reservoirs and made sure that the Native Americans did not leave. So that means the Native Americans could not hunt buffalo, which means Native Americans would die.

The reason why African Americans had it worse was because Africans got took from their homeland and were forced to work for the white man. If Africans refused to work they would be beaten with a whip until they either worked or die from the loss of blood. Also innocent African women would get raped by the slave owner and most of the time would have a bastard child. Families would be spilt up and they would never see each other again.

So that is how the African Americans had it worse, and how the Native Americans had it worse. Both groups of people had to go through a lot to survive over the years. One group is booming while the other group is trying to survive. Now the decision is up to you to decide who had it worse!

4 comments:

mimizzlebaybay said...

Oh Jack i liked your blog. Even though it seems like u tried to take my ides because i did write about native americans and african americans last week. Any way it was very informative. It covered a lot on how both the native and african american lived. Well done!

Ben said...

Good job on your blog, comparing the Native Americans’ struggles to the Africans’ struggles. Personally, I would say that the natives had thing worse from the start. Even before, when Europeans first came to the Americas, the natives were devastated. Even though Europeans first used them as slaves, disease was the greatest killer of Native Americans all around. It’s like they were massacred and for no reason at all. Though Africans had frictions with the Europeans, the Native Americans were damaged from the start.

Armstrong said...

Jack good blog. This idea to compare blacks and native American struggles was very creative. both races had a bunch of obstacles to go through before they got where they are today.

Chandingo said...

Wow,
In my opinion, I think the African Americans had it worse. The part where you explained on how the women got raped and got a bastard child creeped me out. But for the Native American, they had it bad as well.